Duff House

Constructed in 1735 by William Adam for William Duff, 1st Earl Fife, Duff House is rather unique for a number of reasons.

William Adam was at the time Scotland’s pre-eminent architect and William Duff one of her wealthiest. This should have been a marriage made in heaven, but Adam owned quarries in Fife from which he had the stone brought to Banff, leading to much greater cost; which the Earl refused to pay.

This resulted in the original design never being completed, which would have seen two frontward curved extensions on either side of the main structure. Despite not being completed, the house remains an excellent example of Georgian architecture.

William Adam’s Original Design

Like this article?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

Mercat Cross, Banff

A gorgeous stone mast capped with a cross representing Christ flanked by two ladies, possibly representing the Virgin Mary and Mary Magdalene, and above the

Read More »