Fordyce Castle

Constructed in 1592 by a Provost of Aberdeen, Thomas Menzies of Kirkbill Durn, the castle still looks as impressive as it might have when built. Over the years additional wings have been added, and whilst small, the castle definitely stands out located in the centre of the village.

Fordyce Castle is not one of the residences of the Scottish Menzies clan, although the history of the Durn branch of the Menzies is quite fascinating. Sir Thomas married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir George Ogilvie of Dunlugus (owners of Findlater Castle), and was noted for following the ‘old faith’, a euphemism for not converting to the church of Scotland.

Like this article?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest